African Studies Thesaurus
Search the thesaurus About the thesaurus Contact User tips ASC Leiden Home
You are at: Home | Search the thesaurus

African Studies Thesaurus

Batawana polity       LUcat Search catalogue 294900888

Scope note
ca. 1795- . Location: Okavango delta, northwestern Botswana, bordering Namibia, one of the eight Tswana kingdoms (merafe) officially recognized by the British following the establishment in 1885 of the Bechuanaland Protectorate. The hereditary chief of the Batawana is a member of the Ntlo ya Dikgosi, an advisory body of the Parliament of Botswana.

Used for
Batawana Kingdom
Tawana Kingdom

Broader terms
Botswanan polities

Subject category

starts with

Browse alphabetical list
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Browse subject categories

Back to top

© ASC Leiden 2006-2024 | Last update: Thursday, February 15, 2024 | Webmaster

Search the thesaurus

About the thesaurus


User tips

ASC Leiden Home