African Studies Thesaurus
Search the thesaurus About the thesaurus Contact User tips ASC Leiden Home
You are at: Home | Search the thesaurus

African Studies Thesaurus

CILSS       LUcat Search catalogue 294904492

Scope note
Intergovernmental organization composed of nine Sahelian countries (Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, The Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Chad). Founded in 1973, its mandate is to invest in food security research and in the struggle against the effects of drought and desertification in the Sahel in order to achieve a new ecological equilibrium in the area. Since 1976 it has been supported by the Club du Sahel, set up under the joint aegis of the Sahel countries and the Paris-based OECD.

Used for
Comité Permanent Inter États de Lutte contre la Sécheresse dans le Sahel
Permanent Interstate Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel

Broader terms
African organizations

Related terms

Subject category


starts with

Browse alphabetical list
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Browse subject categories

Back to top

© ASC Leiden 2006-2024 | Last update: Thursday, February 15, 2024 | Webmaster

Search the thesaurus

About the thesaurus


User tips

ASC Leiden Home