African Studies Thesaurus
Search the thesaurus About the thesaurus Contact User tips ASC Leiden Home
You are at: Home | Search the thesaurus

African Studies Thesaurus

East African Community       LUcat Search catalogue 29490882X

Scope note
The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organization of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The treaty establishing the EAC was signed on 30 November 1999 and entered into force on 7 July 2000 following its ratification by the original three partner States - Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. Rwanda and Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18 June 2007 and became full members of the Community with effect from 1 July 2007. Previous regional integration arrangements in East Africa include the East African High Commission (1948-1961), the East African Common Services Organization (1961-1967) and the former East African Community (1967-1977).

Used for
East African Common Services Organization
East African High Commission
Jumuiya Ya Afrika Mashariki

Broader terms
African organizations

Subject category


starts with

Browse alphabetical list
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Browse subject categories

Back to top

© ASC Leiden 2006-2024 | Last update: Thursday, February 15, 2024 | Webmaster

Search the thesaurus

About the thesaurus


User tips

ASC Leiden Home