African Studies Thesaurus
Search the thesaurus About the thesaurus Contact User tips ASC Leiden Home
You are at: Home | Search the thesaurus

African Studies Thesaurus

French West Africa       LUcat Search catalogue 294912673

Scope note
Originally created in 1895 as a union of Senegal, French Sudan, French Guinea and Ivory Coast, the federation was placed on a permanent footing in 1904. French West Africa subsequently expanded and from 1932 to 1947 it comprised the colonies of Dahomey, French Guinea, French Sudan, Ivory Coast, Mauritania, Niger, and Senegal. Upper Volta was added in 1947. French Togo, a mandated area and trust territory after 1946, was often considered an affiliated unit. The Federation was dissolved in 1959.

Used for
Afrique Occidentale Franšaise

Related terms
French-speaking Africa
West Africa

Subject category

starts with

Browse alphabetical list
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Browse subject categories

Back to top

© ASC Leiden 2006-2024 | Last update: Thursday, February 15, 2024 | Webmaster

Search the thesaurus

About the thesaurus


User tips

ASC Leiden Home