African Studies Thesaurus
Search the thesaurus About the thesaurus Contact User tips ASC Leiden Home
You are at: Home | Search the thesaurus

African Studies Thesaurus

Hausa polities       LUcat Search catalogue 294915095

Scope note
ca. 600-ca. 1800. Location: Nigeria and Niger. The Hausa formed seven major and seven minor states, the Hausa Bakwai and the Banza Bakwai (i.e. the seven true Hausa states and the seven bastards). The Hausa Bakwai were Daura, Kano, Zaria, Gobir, Katsina, Rano and Biram. The Banza Bakwai were Zamfara, Kebbi, Nupe, Gwari, Yauri, Bauchi and Kwararafa.

Used for
Hausa Kingdoms
Hausa States
Haussa States

Broader terms
Nigerian polities
Nigerien polities

Subject category

starts with

Browse alphabetical list
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Browse subject categories

Back to top

© ASC Leiden 2006-2024 | Last update: Thursday, February 15, 2024 | Webmaster

Search the thesaurus

About the thesaurus


User tips

ASC Leiden Home