African Studies Thesaurus
Search the thesaurus About the thesaurus Contact User tips ASC Leiden Home
You are at: Home | Search the thesaurus

African Studies Thesaurus

Katanga       LUcat Search catalogue 294937064

Scope note
Province of the former colony of Belgian Congo which seceded from the newly independent Republic of Congo in July 1960. In January 1963 Katangan leaders agreed to end the secession and the region was reincorporated into the Congo Republic. Renamed Shaba in 1972, it again became Katanga in 1997 following President Mobutu's exile. Under the 2006 Constitution, it will be divided into four provinces: Haut-Katanga, Tanganyika, Lualaba and Haut-Lomami.

Used for

Broader terms
Democratic Republic of Congo

Subject category

starts with

Browse alphabetical list
0 1 2 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Browse subject categories

Back to top

© ASC Leiden 2006-2024 | Last update: Thursday, February 15, 2024 | Webmaster

Search the thesaurus

About the thesaurus


User tips

ASC Leiden Home